God’s Market Value #SheSpeaks14


So, my eyes popped wide open at 3:30 in the morning about a week ago. What the what? I am a girl who likes her beauty rest. Not a fan of interrupted sleep. Big fan of sound, peaceful slumber.

I am such a “sound sleeper,” in fact, that all kids and dogs go completely out of their way to get to Scott’s side of the bed if they need something in the middle of the night. They know that mommy is usually in such a deep REM she will never hear them or come to their aid. Yep, can’t hear them at all. Wink.

Anyway, when I wake up in the middle of the night “just because,”I pay attention. I either need to run to the bathroom (TMI?) or I wonder if God is trying to tell me something.

On this particular night, the phrase “market value “kept running through my head. Market value. Market value. Market value. (You get the idea…) I couldn’t shake it so I figured I should probably write it down. I have been obsessing about possible titles for this book I’m trying to write, so I figured maybe God had just downloaded the perfect title, though I had no idea what on earth it might mean!

Bleary eyed, I fumbled for my phone on the nightstand and typed those words into the “notes” section so I could remember them in the morning.

Once a more reasonable wake-up time appear on the clock, I revisited my notes. What did God want me to know about “market value?? ” Could it somehow tie into my writing?

This may come as a shock to some of you (not!) but I wasn’t an economics major in college. I like language and literature, but I never really could wrap my mind around concepts like “antitrust” and “arbitrage.”

I am slightly embarrassed to admit this, but I actually had to Google the definition of market value and watch a Khan Academy video to understand what it is. And here is what I found:

Market value is the price at which an asset would trade in a competitive auction setting.

Okay, God? Somehow I couldn’t see the connection. Maybe I needed to and ingest another cup of caffeine to make sense of it all. What could this possibly have to do with my book?

I decided to read down a bit further. That’s when I saw this – “Market value is a concept distinct from “market price,” which is the price at which one can transact, while market value is the true underlying value.

The true underlying value. It dawned on me that maybe God wasn’t trying his hand at a clever title, He was in fact giving me a deeper message about the whole process of publishing in general.

You see, I have a message and I want to get it out there. No doubt, I do. I’m passionate about people following the whispers of God as He beckons them into deeper relationship with him. I love what he has shown and taught me I want to share that with others. His love is so amazing! Somehow, someway I’d love for this book I’m working on to find its way into the marketplace.

The thing is, I’m just not sure if it will get picked up by a traditional publisher or if I will and up publishing it myself.

Today I got on a plane (by myself!) to head to the She Speaks 2014 conference in Charlotte, North Carolina! And, like I mentioned in my previous post, I have the opportunity to meet with a couple of publishers. Major gulp! (Hoping I didn’t forget deodorant like some major – well, she’s major to me – public figure I know forgot a hairbrush. But don’t worry, I came to her rescue. Turns out 7-11 sells hairbrushes. Who knew?!)

Where was I? Oh yes, publishers. I decided to put my nose to the grindstone over these past couple of weeks and draft my very own book proposal. I figured if I was going to fly all the way out here for this conference, I might as well at least take the two free publisher appointments. Yowsers! The process felt like term paper trauma all over again. Need I remind you that all nighters are not in my wheelhouse anymore (see above). But I did it.

I focused. I prayed. I wrestled with God. I turned the ideas and theme of this book over and over in my mind. I word-smithed until the proverbial horse was more than dead. It was clear I needed to trust I had done my best and let it go.

As I sit here in a hotel room on the eve of two publishing appointments, I need to trust I have done all I can do to this point. I followed God’s whisper and embarked on a journey to write the story he has given me. I don’t know if there will be a place in the traditional publishing market for my book, but I have no control over that.

I only have control over my obedience to following God’s call. Perhaps my message won’t compete at market price, but rest assured it has “market value.” I have been faithful to the one who has always been faithful to me.

If I’m truly writing for an audience of One, it may not take all the sting out of potential rejection, but it will remind me that the market value of my message is priceless.

Because that’s what He is to me. And that’s what WE are to Him.

4 Comments

  1. Kara says:

    Beautiful. So many applications to our true value, as opposed to our true price! I love it. May God grant you peace as you wait, as you meet, and as you enjoy the conference!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

