Who Makes You Better? #FathersDay


“I will be to him a father and he shall be to me a son. When he commits iniquity, I will discipline him with the rod of men, with the stripes of the sons of men, but my steadfast love will not depart from him….” (2 Samuel 7:14-15)

So, it’s Father’s Day. And we’re huddled around the booth in our RV (too many mosquitos outside; we are soft) at the Chama RV Park eating hamburgers off the grill. And I decide we should, you know, go around the table and all say something we appreciate about Dad. Seems appropriate.

And the pint-sized one, she says, “You are the Dad I always wanted. You used to throw me in the air and you make me smile sometimes. I love you so much!”

Awww. The plan is working. Dad is all ears.

Then a couple more off-spring offer super sweet, tear-envoking comments.

The pump is primed.

And then Kelel, last but never least, reflects in a manner wise beyond his years, “Dad, I love you because you make me a better son. You help me know who I am.”

Just wow.

The layers packed into that statement are profound. Fathers have the opportunity, should they choose to accept it, to help their children become who their Heavenly Father designed them to be.

Dads uncover to help children discover.

Oh that we all would be connected to that kind of Daddy. The kind that makes us better and plants people in our lives who do the same. People who help us discover who we were born to be – and then make us better.

Who makes you better? Now, go and do likewise…

PS – Thanks, Dad. You fit the description! I am forever grateful that you continue to make me ever better. You helped me realize I should look for that in a mate and it paid off. 🙂

20140615-231010-83410198.jpg

20140615-231008-83408364.jpg

20140615-231009-83409262.jpg

1 Comment

Let me know what you think!

