Debunking Garth Brooks


It’s been a few weeks since my last post and it may seem I’ve “gone dark.”   With the frantic paperwork prep subsiding and the required vaccinations taking root in our veins, the party line is that  “we’ve  done all we can do from here.”  Our dossier now sits in the hands of an Ethiopian translator, gearing up to arrive at court where a judge will review it and send us word of our long-awaited “court date.” 

The timing of an impending family “union” is now out of our hands.

I sense a wry smile cross God’s face… A loving sigh as he whispers the words — Oh my darling, child, it has always been out of your hands. What you must do is…. PRAY.  Pray to the One who holds the world in His hands.  Pray to the one who holds YOU in His hands. Pray to the One who holds THEM in His hands.  Pray to the One who brings us to the edge, where possible meets impossible and says – TRUST.

Busyness is my friend.  A constant companion I can tuck in my back pocket to pull out at a moment’s notice.  See, look, I am doing something.  As I shuffle papers, I feign control.  A task is a firm foundation on which to rest my laurels. 

But now, I am asked to wait.  And PRAY.  Without ceasing. The discomfort level increases.

Time ticks by.  Another school year comes to a close.  A soccer season ends as preparations for a much rehearsed dance recital begin.  Nightly prayers feel repetitious and stale.  The feeling sweeps in — of “unanswered prayer.”

And there it is — Garth Brooks theology.  His strong, sultry voice fills my head.  The refrain takes hold of my mind.  Maybe this prayer is, at best, unanswerable.

Then, I open my Bible to God’s word for today and the Apostle Paul  implores me to “pray without ceasing.”  There it is, my command to DO something.  And, sure enough, you  KNOW my friend Oswald Chambers has something to say on the subject:

“Jesus never mentioned unanswered prayer, He had the boundless certainty that prayer is always answered….. God answers prayer in the best way, not sometimes, but every time, although the immediate manifestation of  the answer in the domain in which we want it may not always follow. Do we expect God to answer prayer?

The danger with us is that we want to water down the things that Jesus says and make them mean something in accordance with common sense; if it were only common sense, it was not  worth while for Him to say it.  The things Jesus says about prayer are supernatural revelations.” (My Utmost for His Highest, May 26).

As word trickles down that Ethiopian adoptions will only be processed at the rate of five per day, I pray. 

As emotions wane and questions persist, I pray. 

As unanswered prayers feel alive and well, I pray.

And the melody wafts through my mind…

Some of God’s greatest gifts…. are His ANSWERED prayers.

 

2 Comments

  1. Casey says:

    I love reading your posts, Megan. You are such a wonderful writer and an inspiring, amazing Godly woman. I’ll be praying for you and your family. xoxo

    Like

  2. Kathryn Jones Grosscup says:

    Megan and Scott –

    I just learned about this incredible undertaking for you both and your family. We are excited for you and want to hear your stories. All the best with the details coming this summer until your new kids finally arrive. Can I borrow some of your strength?? 🙂

    Like

Let me know what you think!

