She said, He said


Today, as I open my inbox, I am flooded with emails of public outcry regarding the most recent potential legislative changes concerning Ethiopian adoptions.  Word on the street is the Ethiopian Ministry of Women’s Affairs (affectionately known as MOWA) is tightening the proverbial belt and, as of March 10th, will only be processing 5 adoptions per day as opposed to the 40 or so they have been processing as of late. This news could result in a 90% reduction in processed adoptions!  IF this policy goes into effect, several thousand children per year could remain institutionalized.

Selfishly, my thoughts race inward, “What about us?”  Then, my worldview expands, and I think, “What about them?  All of them?”

Let’s just back up the truck here.  My metaphorical gestational clock was prepared for the “standard” amount of time it takes to process an adoption.  “4 – 6 months!” our agency’s website touted. Granted, my biological pregnancies took 40 weeks, but if we could pound out the paperwork and get going in less time, then by all means — let’s do this thing.  God granted the vision.  We took the leap of faith.  A picture arrived of two sweet children and in an instant our hearts were kept.  A family of four morphed into a family of six.  Now we just needed to jump through the hoops, gather the paperwork and travel to Ethiopia.

A + B = C, right?  I know it’s not pretty, but that’s what I said.  (I never claimed math of any sort was my strong suit.)

I am slowly learning my “chronos” version of time is different than God’s “kairos” version of time.  As I type this, our painstakingly prepared paperwork is signed, sealed, and ready to be delivered.  Well, all except for one thing…. my FBI clearance.  True story.  Apparently, my fingerprints leave a lot to be desired because I have “failed” the background check due to “poor quality” prints — TWICE!  Now they have to do a name check.  By all means, check away.  I’ve paid my parking tickets.  My husband jokes I should be on the lam.  (Don’t worry FBI guy, if you’re reading this I truly am minding my p’s and q’s — and feeding the meter.)

Recently I confessed my anxiety to the Lord in the pages of my tattered journal.   My thoughts spoke… Doubt. Confusion. Expectancy. Excitement.  Restraint.  Relief.  Always questioning, How will this all turn out?

He said, “But these things I plan won’t happen right away, slowly steadily, surely, the time approaches when the vision will be fulfilled.  If it seems slow, wait patiently, for it will surely take place.  It will not be delayed.”  (Habakkuk 2:3 NLT)

Right there, in the pages of his Living Word, he once again settled my anxious heart.  I don’t know when, I don’t know how, but I know something’s starting right now… I know, cheap Disney reference, but if the shoe fits!

God does not need us for the victory.  He is victorious.  But He does ask us to actively participate in His kingdom.  It is our privilege to watch Him work.  If you feel so inclined, please visit the Joint Council Emergency Campaign for Ethiopian Children website and sign this petition:

http://www.gopetition.com/petition/43714.html

I said, what?  He said, wait…. So, we hurry up and wait for His perfect timing.

2 Comments

  1. Angel Smith says:

    Bless your hearts! Thank you for your words above. They touched me and I am really grateful for the Habakkuk 2:3 scripture. Will be pondering that for my life. I’m going to put that scripture on my status. To God be the glory and He will be glorified!!

    Like

  2. Katie says:

    Crazy. Just a couple hours ago I was talking with my friend here who has the adopted daughter from Ethiopia (you met her this summer along the soccer field). She mentioned this and that the petition is on her FB page. I was going to fwd to you but of course you would already know and have it. I am praying for this and God’s timing and divine intervention. Love, love, love you! me

    Like

Let me know what you think!

